The Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau
(TTB) just issued an interim policy ruling on gluten content declarations in the labeling and advertising of wines, distilled spirits, and malt beverages. The ruling provides guidelines concerning gluten claims made on labels of alcoholic beverages.
According to Gluten Free Watchdog, the TTB has not allowed gluten-free claims on beverages under their jurisdiction in the past stating the following in written correspondence received by Gluten Free Watchdog, “The Bureau considers labels that declare a product to be “gluten free” or lead to the impression that a product is safe for those who suffer from celiac disease as making health claims, which are prohibited.”.
Under the interim policy, the TTB will allow products made from ingredients that do not contain gluten to be labeled as gluten-free only if the producer can prove no cross-contamination has occurred during all processing.
The Food and Drug Administration is however still developing updated wording for gluten-free labeling and once they are finished, the TTB will revisit this interim policy to determine if the wording should stand as is or be revised.
Posted on Thu, July 19, 2012
by Maureen Stanley filed under